laim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Boredom is a state where we are not motivated to do anything. Lack of work can also be one of the reasons for it. when we are bored we generally express it with a sense of self satisfaction but the claim suggests that it really must be a source of embarrassment. Then reason for the claim is given as we are bored because of less imagination and self motivation. I support this claim up to an extent.

Let us take an instance where a person is really bored because of his job. He is disinterested because of the pedestrian and same work the person has to do repeatedly everyday and wishes for a change. As a result of this there will be absence of motivation in him to work. Here being bored cannot be viewed as an embarrassment because it is not because the person has no imagination or self motivation. In contrast there is more motivation to do work but the absence of opportunities to work more was a result of apathy.

Conversely if we consider the case about the summer holidays which students. they feel really bored if there are no plans and end up squandering a lot of time which is not a good sign. For this case we can consider that being bored is due to no motivation and can be considered as an embarrassment.

On the other hand some of the students spend some time on their avocations when the feeling of weariness arises in them. So the feeling of being bored has caused a good result as they had used their time effectively when it arises. Therefore here it cannot be viewed as an embarrassment rather a symbol of motivation to move on with our life without wasting time.

From these instances we can come to a conclusion that boredom is a sign of embarrassment only when we let the feeling overtake us and we end up doing nothing. Once we use the time we are bored with some useful work considering it as a sign of alert, it can never be viewed as an embarrassment and is rather a factor of motivation.