Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

The argument that boredom is the reflection of self-satisfaction stems from the perception that self-contented people have nothing remaining in their life to cherish. In contrast to this position, a plain observation into a day of happy and successful people reflects that the mirthful people are consistently active, both physically and mentally. Opposite to this is the case of people living in boredom, who lack vitality and ultimately end in mental problems like depression. Therefore, boredom shouldn’t be synonymous to self-satisfaction; instead, it should be considered as the sign of diffidence and fragile psychology.

People living active life involve themselves in creative and imaginative activities. Their ingenuity motivates them to explore new possibilities, learn, innovate and contribute. These people never find a reason to stay idle. Famous scientists like Albert Einstein and Charles Darwin are remembered for their consistent effort, at all times of their life. Einstein, even at his death-bed, was pondering upon most difficult conundrums of physics. Darwin never stated being bored while working on the complex ideas of evolution of species for hours for years. These famous people never complained of their life, rather credited the most challenging and difficult circumstances for making them more creative. The people enjoying glory and applaud are ultimately those who devote consistently to their cause and passion. It is undoubted that a brain driven by passion and enthusiasm never finds a cause to vegetate.

However, defining boredom as self-satisfaction is nothing more than an excuse and pointless boast. Self-satisfaction arises from knowledge and achievement. And, these can’t be gained without an active effort. Those with boredom, lack these characters; thus achieve less in their life. They neither gain social reputation nor self-actualization. Their esteem can’t parallel to that of an active person. In social situations, they find themselves colorless and humiliated. It causes nothing but embarrassment: life without any purpose appears futile. It ultimately leads to serious physical and mental diseases, concluding their life in depression and suicide.

Boredom is not confined within the age group, physical condition or social situations of an individual. It is merely a state of mind. Mahatma Gandhi, even at his old age, fought for the freedom of his people. There are many physically challenged mountaineers who, due to their imperturbable motivation, climbed the summit of Mt. Everest. Famous scientists like Einstein, Neil’s Bhor, Madam Curie, continued their work and made significant discoveries even at the timeof world war. We can never find the terms as giving up, being bored or similar in their biographies. Thus boredom is antagonistic to creativity and determination. One can easily find a cause to stay bored, at any time and situation, if one wishes to.

The contrast between active people and those with boredom reveals that boredom is resulted by the lack of imagination, effort and self-esteem which eventually leads to social alienation and embarrassment, resulting problems with the mind and body. Therefore, there is no point in encouraging boredom by tagging it wrongly as self-satisfaction.