The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner who wrote the letter believes that the decrease in business in Central Plaza has been due to the increase in number of skateboarders at the plaza, and that prohibiting skateboarding at the plaza would result in the business at the plaza improving to its original level. The argument is flawed because it makes some assumptions, the basis of which have not been shown to be true.

The foremost factor that needs to be taken into account is whether the business at the stores has plummeted directly due to the increase in skateboarders. Intuitively, the opposite should be true, because when more people frequent the plaza, more people are likely to shop at the stores. The store owner needs to analyze why this has not been happening. Is there any reason that the large number of skateboarders have not been shopping at the store? Perhaps the stores have not been catering to the needs of their customers well, or maybe they are overpriced. The writer does not mention whether the number of stores has remained the same for the past two years. Maybe the number of shoppers at the stores has reduced simply because the number of stores has reduced, which could signify some issue that has not been analyzed by the writer. Thus, it cannot be said that the business in Central Plaza would return to its peak, just based on whether the skateboarders are allowed at the plaza or not.

In addition, the writer has not provided any evidence that the increased litter and vandalism at the plaza is due to the increased number of skateboarders. Perhaps the increased litter has been caused due to the lack of trash cans. Litter and vandalism could have also been caused due to the lack of security staff at the plaza, who should be responsible for preventing it from happening. There is just not enough information on whether these issues are directly correlated with the increased number of skateboarders, and as a result, it cannot be used as an argument in favour of banning skateboarding to improve business.

Furthermore, the writer does not consider the negative effects to business that prohibition of skateboarders would cause. Skateboard rentals, shoe rentals, skateboarding entry fees, and snack stalls are among few of the possible revenue streams that would be severely hampered as a result of banning skateboarding at the plaza, due to the dramatically high numbers of skateboarders at the plaza. Thus, the writer needs to consider whether the business in Central Plaza would really flourish despite the lost revenue generated by skateboarding, if skatebording were to be prohibited at the plaza.

In conclusion, the writer is concerned about the plummet in business at Central Plaza, supposedly caused by the alarmingly high number of skateboarders, but neither does he/she consider any other factors that may be causing this issue, nor does he/she consider the possible repercussions towards the business at the plaza that banning skateboarding would cause. Overall, his/her argument does not hold because it is too simplistic and possibly naive.