We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Throughout history, people have assimilated with others with whom they share something in common with. Very often, these people have similar ideas, and do not consider that there exists the possiblility that they are misguided in their beliefs, because they are surrounded by people who share the same beliefs. I am a proponent of the idea that people who interact with people who share different views from them, face a larger learning opportunity because they are more exposed to different ways of thinking.

From the Roman Empire to the Industrial Revolution, the world's greatest moments of progress have been when traditional viewpoints had been challenged. For instance, China's economy struggled when it was closed off to the world, but when it opened itself up to the world, it saw a massive increase in its technological progress. Similarly, the greatest advancements in technology in the recent past have been from multicultural countries. The advancement is an indirect consequence of their multicultural nature. As the best talent from around the world flocks to Silicon Valley, companies in the US keep pushing the boundaries of what modern technology can do. This is a result of the mixing of ideas from different parts of the globe.

In the modern world, the majority of the youth uses social media for several hours per week. This is no mere accident. Companies like Facebook aggressively filter the content that users on their services are exposed to, in order to obtain maximum revenue from advertisements. The best way that they can do this is by showing users content that they believe the users agree with, and thus present the users with a filtered version of reality. Users are tricked into believing that the world shares their views, and are thus complacent. However, when they encounter somebody that does not share the same view as them, their first instinct is to categorize the person with a differing view as stupid. Clearly, this strategy of social media preys on the naivety of many of its users. What this can lead to, is radicalization. People who do not believe in any version of reality except the one they have been so accustomed to, cannot possibly conceive of the idea of a differing viewpoint. Instead of learning from the ideas of others, they would persistently insist that their views are right.