Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

This century is perhaps the first time that students are presented with such a plethora of fields to pursue. It is also perhaps the century in which students face the most pressure about making right choice, given the abundance of options available to them. In this regard, the prompt argues that it is the duty of educational institutions to convince students not to pursue fields of study which they are unlikely to be successful in. However, the concepts of how these institutions define success and the likeliness of success is ambiguous, which presents a complex conundrum-following one's passion or following what one is good at. Considering this, I disagree with the prompt to some extent for the reasons that will be stated below.

How is the likelihood of success estimated by educational institutions? The most obvious choice seems to be through grades. However, there are numerous cases where students' grades improve when they are more focussed on their future career, and when they feel the necessity to bring up their grades for a scholarship, graduate school applications, job applications, and so on. As such, grades are not immutable, and are not the best measure of future success in a field. Therefore, if the measure of likelihood of future success is a student's grades, then I do not believe that this presents sufficient grounds to dissuade students from pursuing a field that they are interested in. With sufficient determination, motivation, and discipline, grades can be improved over time.

Assuming that an educational institution's reasons for believing that a student would be unlikely to succeed in a field do not rest on grades, but rather some other factors, more analysis of the student and a mentor/professor must be done to make a proper judgement. For instance, a student might choose to pursue a field because of the well-paying jobs which would be accessible to them if they pursued this field. In such a situation, the educational institution must intimate to the student why they feel that he/she might not succeed in the field, without explicitly dissuading the student from pursuing such a field. Perhaps the institution could try to ascertain whether the student is genuinely interested in the field, or whether he/she is simply pursuing the field for the potential monetary benefits that it would yield. If it is the former, then I believe that the educational institution must give the student an honest analysis of reasons he/she might not succeed along with ways to improve the situation to ensure future success, instead of merely dissuading the student from pursuing the field.

One situation where I believe that an educational instituion is justified in dissuading students from pursuing fields in which they are unlikely to succeed is if the prospect of failure is not in the student's hands. For instance, there might be a severe lack of job opportunities in some field that a student is interested in. In such cases, perhaps it would be best for the institution to let the students know of the difficulties that they will likely face in the future if they choose that field, but ultimately leave the choice to the student.

In conlusion, this is a complex issue that differs based on situation. However, in general I believe that it should be the student who decides their future and that every student should pursue what they are interested in. If a student is determined enough, they can improve themselves to the point that their likelihood of success in the field increases in the future.