Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What separates the students with a 4.0 GPA and students with a 3.0 GPA is the difference in their lifestyles, specifically in their personal discipline. While schools and universities do play a role in helping one learn, it is ultimately a student's own choices in terms of his/her discipline that makes the most significant impact in the amount of learning done.

We live in an increasingly distracted world, where even the most miniscule of notfication beeps can lead one down a rabbit-hole of endless scrolling through social media. Unless a person possesses the strength to force himself/herself from ignoring this attention-grabbing wormhole, either by silencing notifications or by keeping his/her smartphone away while studying, focused work cannot be achieved. Unless a person persists in their learning despite the presence of a new and exciting TV show release, they cannot genuinely achieve their learning goals. No amount of deadlines from educational institutions can force one to learn if they do not have the discipline to persevere in their work despite all the prevalent distractions. From my personal experience, whenever I have an assignment due by midnight, most of my smart friends don't seem to be working at 10pm, but my other friends seem to be frantically scrambling to meet the deadline. These deadline-chasers are often appalled by the lack of work from the friends who had already completed, and they possess the misguided belief that just because they spent more time working on the assignment, that they have imbibed more of the content, and have thus learned more. The students who are earning better grades, on the other hand, have a more disciplined work-ethic, and paradoxically, seem to have spent less time studying.

In addition to deadlines, schools and colleges also motivate students by presenting concepts that they maintain are fascinating, and often lucrative areas of study. The idea is to get students to master the prerequisites in order to take up classes on these subjects. This would leave most students in an ephemeral motivated state, where they come up with lofty dreams about these areas of study. However, it is only those with personal discipline that stick to their plans, and constantly update them in order to persevere with them despite their often busy schedules. Although the encouragement by schools and colleges seem to have sowed the seeds that would lead them to their learning goals, it is their personal discipline that would lead them to actually achieving these learning goals. No amount of deadlines will sufficiently motivate a person without discipline. It might motivate them to present haphazard work just in order to meet a deadline, but it can never truly motivate them to learn without suficient self-discipline from the student.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning is predominantly a matter of self-discipline. While students can be motivated by schools or colleges, mere motivation is insufficient to achieve true learning.