Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author clearly states that learning is totally a personal discipline, one shouldn't be either motivated or forced to choose his own area of learning. I tend to agree with this prompt that one must have freedom to acquire actual learning and so I am going to present some hypothetical analysis that would clarify my position with this assumption.

At first, when a child is born it acts like in his own way, there is nothing much to influence it to behave in a particular way, in contrast, the child starts to gain a natural inherent properties that primarily defines its behavior. That’s why it is natural, a student has his own interest and feelings in a particular area that may instigate him the most. An institution cannot hurt his interest in the way of learning, if it does, the matter of learning of the student impeded at a great scale. Now a days, like in my country Bangladesh, students are being forced to embrace a course or a curriculum that even arcane to him, the authority don’t have much time to consider whether it would bring good or deteriorating the mind of an student consequently, that brings a deleterious effect to a nation as the students are dropping out in the middle. A school or a college is not concerned the capabilities of their students and that is a big threshold in learning. Moreover, an institution have some area that shares the similitudes to students’ comfortability, if school contradicts in a personal choice or make a bad influence in the freedom of thinking, it stops a nation to go further in their future.

However, there are a lot of students who are not sure what suits them well, in very aspects some positive motivation can urge up a student to select an area of learning and that also helps him to find interests in that particular section. An institution can elicit the insight of a student what is happening inside the mind and make him understood what suits him best and make a comfortable and efficacy way of learning.

In conclusion, in the field of learning freedom is a must needed thing that helps one to go beyond limit and make the impossible to possible and that is actually the real way of learning consequently, learning is more a personal discipline than influenced by others but sometimes an influence can make a better way to ease in learning as well.