Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is a life long process, we learn throughout out our life. Here, the prompt, suggests that the learning is mainly associated with personal discipline and argues that student cannot be motivated by college or school alone. I mostly disagree with the statement and think that school and college are capable of motivating student alone.

To begin, school or college do have the right personal who is actually connected to academia to encourage them to purse them a right course. With variety of personal as disposal to the college or school, they can actually guide a student towards his/her passion or help him/her to find the right passion. For instance, a art teacher can guide or motivate a student who is naturally good in art to pursue art courses. The teacher can explain about the things he have learned through art, it can really help the student to ignite the passion within himself/herself. Student in school or college are malleable and do not have the right knowledge themselves about the learning process, in this condition the school or college faculty can provide the student with proper guidance and shape their future accordingly.

Secondly, student usually spend most of their time in the college or school. So, it becomes imperative that the encouragement for learning come through the school or college itself. I think one of the important job of the teacher is to provide the student with proper guidance not only with regards to subject matter but also the learning process. They can shape the style and attitude of the student towards learning process. It is specially true in the lower level classes. For instance, if the students are motivated and encouraged from their early age to go to the library about research find things on their own then it will beneficial to the students in the long run. They will learn to be independent. It is one of the many that has to taught in fro the early age. The system of the working of a student can be altered by the school faculty alone, so that they will be more independent in their future academic life.

However, at last it is the student only who have to work their way through it. They are the one who have to work hard and pursue their goal. The teachers, college and school faculty are there only to help and encourage them. Desire and passion of the student is what matters while pursuing the long term goal. While pursuing the goal they do have to overcome obstacles on their own, they need to have the right mentality and attitude for that process.

In conclusion, though the matter of personal discipline is the important factor in learning, these things can be rightly cultivated by the school and college faculty for the students alone. The college and school have the right personal and environment to motivate the student towards the learning process.