Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker recommends that educational institutions such as universities,colleges etc should encourage the student to pursue the subject which are likely to produce fruitful careers. I agree with the recommendation with the statement in so far that the lucrative career pitched by the institution should match with the passion, desire and interest of the prospective student.

Educational institution usually know more about the careers prospect than the student of that institution because the organization system of the education system consists of expert professors, guidance counsellors, alumni network etc who are more than qualified to identify the lucrative careers for the students. It is the job of institution to inform student about the different career opportunities of different field, they should generally encourage the student to take the fruitful field of study with lucrative careers. If the student is confused about taking majors then it is institution responsibility to encourage them to take the major which produce more lucrative career. By no means should the institution should encourage student to take major in field where the student is not interested in. A student who is good at art should be encouraged to to take economics just because economics majors are earning more.

A fruitful career is good for everyone including the student and educational institution. Student will be doing good in his professional life, while educational institution make claim the professional with splendid career as an alumni of the institution. It is win win situation for for the both parties.

But, a fruitful career can be regarded as subjective. A person can find happiness in doing something he enjoys and likes rather than earning money. If a student takes a major based on solely the lucrative career then, it will be deleterious for the student. So, the institution should be first to act on these situation, can distill only the student who are match for the lucrative careers. And the world is ever changing, one decade hot and lucrative job will be other decade dead end jobs. To choose one's major based entirely on prospect of lucrative job is not prudent.

To sum up, it will not be sagacious to encourage every student to pursue the lucrative career with out studying the background, desire and passion of the student and the educational institution should only encourage the selective student to pursue the field of study whose ambition, passion matches with the that "lucrative" career.