Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speakers asserts that the education in the formal form usually inhibit our mind and spirit rather than set them free. I agree with the statement and think that the formal education in general restricts the freedom of the students in some way or the other.

Firstly, the formal education consists of set of instructions, rules, conditions which have to be followed in order to receive degree or certification of the education. In this procedure, some of the rules may be too restrictive which may question the freedom necessary for the student. For example, if a student who is interested in western art is forced to project on eastern my feel that, he has not used his full potential. The set of instructions, rules, conditions which are innate of the formal education system may make it rigid organization with little or no freedom to the students.

Secondly, one may argue that formal education is for a limited time like for four years of college but the practices during those college shapes the creativity of the student in the future years. For instance, if a architectural student is always forced to design accordingly the supervisor then in professional environment, she/he may always seek a mentor, one who will guide through the design process. If the student during the college was left on his own with little supervision then that student would have little difficulty in the professional field and would have designed the project freely. Usually the formal education system is based on the principles of restricting the actual creativity from the student and meet only the criteria to pass certain courses.

To sum up, one may argue that the formal education is for limited time and there is enough time after the college to enjoy and relish the freedom but i think the restriction on the minds during the formal education process is long lasting and think that it inhibit the creativity of the student and make them trained individual to perform under instructions with out no personal input from them.