The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company, it is stated that all of their employees should take the Easy Read Course stating the reasons that many other companies who have implemented the speed course have improved their productivity. The personnel director has even given the examples of two graduates from the course. On the surface, the recommendation from the personnel director seems plausible. But under close inspection it is full of unstated assumptions. Three questions need to be answered to properly evaluate the recommendation.

To begin, do all the employees in the Acme Publishing Company even need reading skill? Perhaps, only few of them are actually involved in the reading while others are stationed at the printing house. It is also possible that, proof read of the publishing materials are done through a computer rather than by people, so as a result of which people do not require as much reading skill as it would have before. If the above cases are true then the argument presented in the original paragraph is markedly hampered.

Secondly, Even if we assume that almost all employees are inlvoled in reading work in Acme Publishing Company. Will the effect of the course be same in Acme publishing company as compared to other companies? It is possible that the employees in the Acme company are already terrific readers and the course is not going to increase their productivity. Perhaps, the employees have so much of reading experience that the course will not have any effect. If any of the above cases are true then the argument presented in the original paragraph is significntly weakened.

Thirdly, the question about the price of the course. It is really worth it? Perhaps, there are other better options available at more affordable price. It is also possible that, the Company cannot afford the price of the course. And the course includes a seminar in Spurce City, which may be very far from the company. It is possible that, three weeks absence of the employees in the company will seriously hamper the business. Therefore, if above cases are true then the argument presented in the recommendation is considerably hindered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is full of unwarranted assumptions. If the author of the passage is able to provide more evidence and answer the above three questions in systematic manner then it will be possible to evaluate the recommendation of the personnel director to provide all employees of the Acme Publishing Company with Easy Read Course.