Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Education is important, more important is what to study, how to study and when to study.The prompt makes the claim that when planning courses, educators should take look into the suggestions and interest of their student stating the reason that student will be more motivated to study when they are interested in what they are learning. I strongly agree with the claim and think that reason for the claim in the prompt is well justified.

First of all, it the student who are learning the courses, so it is prudent to involve the opinions of the students during the process of course planning. The learning process is a dynamic process, it changes from generation to generation. For instance, learning process few decade ago was very different because there was no internet, computers were not readily available people used to rely on big books,libraries, teachers etc for the information they require during their education. During those time the courses would have been different as compared to nowadays where internet, computers etc are readily available. And it is still changing because of different innovations like kindle, ebooks etc. So, while deciding the courses if the older generation are only involved then, the courses will be inclined towards old technique of learning, but if the students are also involved then the courses will be inclined towards new generation.

Furthermore, as the student are going to spend the time and money on the courses, it makes sense that they are also the part of process of course formulation. They will be spending their significant amount time and considerable amount of money in tuition fees to the university or colleges. If they are involved in the process of course planning then they may feel like they have invested their time and money in right place. They will motivated and excited to learn what they have planned by themselves.

Finally, as the student will be motivated and enthusiastic towards the learning process, the learning process will be easier for the student and the teacher also. Motivation will lead to good grades and it will prepare the student for the industry properly. The good grades in studies will make them more confident while entering into the professional industry. Similarly, they will be more excited for different part of courses like laboratory experiments, quizzes, etc will will be hugely beneficial to the student and the university as well.

In conclusion,one might argue that as the students are still in learning phase, the course planning should be done by the experts. I do agree that, the core content of the individual courses should be decided by the expert educators as student might not even know what to put in the subject matter. But, the involvement of the student in the planning of courses is still important as they are going to study the course and they will be investing their time and money into it.