Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

education is the framework or tool that helps in giving rise to future scientists and technocrats. With this in mind, educational institutions, whether at the school level or at the college level, must have a definite course plan and mandate the syllabus suiting the needs of the students, which can be updated every year based on the industry needs and technological advancements. hence, giving the freedom to the students may not yield fruitful results and the outcome could turn out to be a deleterious one. thus, I believe in leaving the choice open to educators rather than the novice kids.

When noticed on the happenings of education, we see that, only teachers and professors, who devote their time to constant learning and research, are ideal persons to decide upon a course of study. While some course could have been outdated, other relevant courses could have emerged. For example, ten years back, the programming language basic which stands for “Beginners all purpose symbolic instruction code” was taught at the school level. As years passed by, C and C++ programming languages were introduced in the curriculum. Recently Problem solving and Python programming is the need of the hour. this change in trend is better analyzed by educators as they keep track of the happenings in the outside world.

Further, the appropriate subject at each level of study could be designed well by an expert teacher as he/ she propounds the knowledge in a area of study and the hierarchy of study. For instance, a student might be interested in a course in signal processing which is a core paper in the Electronics and communication engineering stream. but without a basic knowledge in basic mathematics and a course in probability and random process, the study of signal processing becomes futile. thus, a professor of the university would design the course in such a way that, the student learns basic mathematics in his first year followed by probability and random processes in the second year and then signal processing in the third year of his study. such apt decisions could be taken in a better way only by an educator. if a teenager is given the opportunity to choose his course, he would only suggest his opinion, whereas he may not be interested in learning that course after studying basic mathematics course. hence, classical knowledge of the subject plays a major role which might not be clearly foreseen by the student.

Furthermore, a detailed comparison of the classical topics with the current level of study could be decided in a shrewd manner only by the subject experts who had been lecturing on the topic for many years and has ample research work in that area. years of experience contributes as a major factor in this type of scenario. The future scope of a course could be well defined only by educators. For instance, if the need of the industry is Java programming, then as the educational institutions have a tie up or link with the companies, they will be constantly updating on the contemporary needs and advise the students to atleast take up certification courses to update themselves.

Nevertheless, the suggestions of the students could be asked based on the interest of them, but in that stage the course should be offered at an elective level rather than at the core level. students should be trained and motivated on the various topics relevant to a course of study rather than giving the freedom to choose their own courses at their own discrepancy. thus, the sole discretion of framing the curriculum should be offered to people in the field rather than to naïve and budding younsters who lack the necessary knowledge and insight on the course of study.