The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, vice president of Butler manufacturing company recommends to shorten the work shift of Butler Manufacturing by one hour to improve the safety of the workers stating two reasons that nearby Panoply Industries have one hour shorter work shift and on-the-job accidents are less in the industry and a government study. The reasons provided by the vice president looks plausible on the surface but strong evidences are required for the reasons to properly analyze the recommendation.

Firstly, evidence is required that proves that the nearby Panoply Industries are comparable to the Butler Manufacturing. It may be the case that Panoply Industries are less likely to have on-the-job accidents because they do not have the machinery, workplace situation, etc which may lead to accidents. It may be also the case that Panoply Industries have well established safety system, which will lead to less accident in first place. So, if any of the above cases are true, then the argument presented by the vice president in the memo is hampered.

Secondly, evidence is need for the validity of the government study that is mentioned. It may be the case that, the study conducted by the government is seriously flawed and based on false data. The sample size of the study, demographics, type of industry, time of study are not mentioned in the memo. It is possible that the sample size was to low to conclude that fatigue and sleep deprivation lead to on-the-job accidents. Perhaps, the study was conducted on different kind of industry where there is more probability of accidents on job than the mentioned Butler Manufacturing industry. So, if any of the above cases are true then, argument presented by the author in the memo is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, even if we assume the government study was legit, strong evidence is required to suggest that reducing one hour in work shift will result in less on-the-job accidents and others factors do not account to the accidents. well, it is possible that, the work environment of the Butler Manufacturing is less safe, so there are more accidents. It may be the case that, the workers are not given proper safety instructions regarding the machinery which may lead to more accidents on the job. So, if any of the above cases hold water then the argument presented by the vice president in the memo is seriously hindered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unstated assumptions and lack of systematic evidences. If author of the passage is able to provide three stated evidences in a systematic manner then it will be possible to evaluate the recommendation regarding the reduction of work hour to improve safety in Butler Manufacturing.