The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing recommends shortening of office shifts by an hour to improve workers’ safety and ensure that they are well rested. This recommendation is based on two premises, namely 1) Comparison of on-job accidents with nearby Panoply Industries, which works for an hour less. 2) A recent government study on fatigue and sleep deprivation as major contributors to onsite accidents. The premises have several important and logical questions unanswered that could seriously weaken the stated recommendation.

Firstly, comparison between Butler Manufacturing and Panoply industries is specious without considering several factors like their size, product complexity, proportion of employees working in hazardous plants, operating conditions etc. Size and status of a company decide the efforts that need to go into products manufactured. Probably Panoply Industries could be a local cottage industry serving the immediate locality, whereas Butler might be an international conglomeration with a huge list of customers. Products have varying conditions for manufacturing. For example, dairy industry and car manufacturing plants have varying requirements and processes involved. Also, the dangers involved substantially vary across product manufacturers. Software related operations are not prone to on site accidents as seen in electrical industries.

Though the stated government study provides evidence about the role of fatigue and sleep deprivation in accidents onsite, we cannot be assured of the applicability of the study to Butler without knowing personal details of the employees, their actual hours and work related stress data. Until we don’t know the family background and stress due to other factors in an employee’s life, we cannot blame stress during the work hours for fatigue or sleep deprivation. Moreover, the memo does not talk about the actual work hours of the employees. What if the present work hours is just six hours? The employees would have the rest of the day to themselves to spend. Also, the memo does not present any data on the work related stress statistics to back it’s conclusion.

To conclude, though the present work hours could be tempestuous for the employees, the arguments stated in the memo do not sufficiently back the claim. In order to make a stronger case, we need more information about the kind of products manufactured and their complexity, size of company, financial stability, workforce population and their personal relationships, availability of safety measures, actual work hours and work related stress statistics of the employees.