"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion that additional power plants would not be necessary to meet the energy requirements of the area the company serves is based on several premises, majorly, 1) Surveys stating increasing eagerness amongst homeowners to conserve energy 2) Availability of energy efficient appliances and their extensive marketing by manufacturers and 3) Sufficiency of available power plants to generate power for the area.

Though the argument talks about surveys that state homeowners’ eagerness to conserve energy, no information has been provided about the relevance of the surveys to the company’s target area. It is also assumed that the eagerness of people would eventually catapult into action leading to conservation of sizable amount of energy. Such assumptions turning out to be negative for the target area might result in rather increased use of energy, creating more demand.

Furthermore, marketing by manufacturers about energy efficient products has no significance until they are purchased by the residents. The document assumes that the residents are financially stable enough to constantly change to/purchase new home appliances. Appliances like air conditioners/refrigerators could be new additions due to global warming over time in the area which might not have needed them a few years back. This would amount increased energy consumption, in contrast to what is stated. Added to this is the assumption of efficiency and acceptance of passive solar heating appliances, which is not backed by scientific/empirical data.

The premise that the available three plants would suffice the needs of the residents does not consider the fact that population is continuously on the rise. Growing population demands more energy and the rate of increase is much more than the case a few years back. In addition, the document assumes the plants to be as healthy as they were a few years back. Engineering marvels do shine down over time, eventually rendering the technology obsolete. The raw materials required for running the plant are also assumed to be in plenty, which might not be the scenario in case of non-renewable resources. The rising population, aging power plants and availability of raw materials decide the energy demands and the probability of meeting the demand with the available resources.

To conclude, the document’s claim that no new power plants would be required to cater to the target area is not strong enough due to several loopholes in the stated premises. Surveys’ relevance to an area and the conversion of residents’ intent to action are not backed by numbers. The financial and climatic landscape have not been studied thoroughly enough. Alas, growing population, health of existing generation sources, and doubts on availability of raw materials have not been considered while stating the conclusion.