The following apeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

“Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are radily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase- and may decline slightly. Sinc our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs,construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated ussumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It might seem logical, al the first glance, to agree with the memorandum that building new generating plants won’t be necessary for the future relies on what might be less credible and unproven assumptions to support its conclusion that I will distinguish below.

First, to justify this argument, the author relies on several recent surveys. These surveys might not be accurate since we don’t know how many people were involved in this survey or even who or what company inducted these surveys. Also, the survey methodology may be problematic and the results are tainted. If this is a case, the argument conclusion about not building new generating plants would be lack any merits.

Second, the author doesn’t consider future conditions. For instance, he or she considers that the weather will be stable and doesn’t consider the effect of climate change. It is possible that in the future the weather conditions will be more severe and those three electric generating plants won’t be enough. Furthermore, what if one of these generating plants detroys due to some condition in the future? If something like this happens, two generating plants won’t be enough for responding to the need of the population.

Third, the argument fails to provide any justification that the population in the future will be as eager as the existing population about conserving enegry. For one, there is a chance that the future generation won’s use of energy efficient and relatig technology as much as this generation. In this case, the need for electricity will be much more and therefore, the need for the fourth and even fifth generating plants will increase. More significantly, the author doesn’t consider the population growth and the population that will add by migration in the future. This increase might be so high that even with all these conserving energies, another generating plant will be needed.

Finally, in order to improve the argument as a whole, we would need more additional data about the surveys and it’s methodology, population rate and imigration, the condition and helath of the three generating plants to fully evalute the argument and assess it.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffers from several problems and is unconvincing, but we cannot absolutely rely on it or refuse it without persuing any additional assumptions and reasoning. The author cans strengthen his or her assertion by changing states reffered to the mentioned solution. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasing is faulty.