The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the memo that the Super Screen Movie should allocate a budget for advertising. The author of this argument relies on what might be less credible evidence or even unproven assumptions to support his or her conclusion that I will distinguish them below.

First, the argument fails to provide any justification that the population of the area is stable. what if the reason for the decline in attending movies is simply because fewer people are in this area? they could be a lot of reasons for this. What if a factory in which the population worked in it went bankrupt and they had to move to another area to find a job? clearly if something like this happened, the attendance of Super Screen Movie would decrease.

Second, we are not informed whether the Super Screen Movie raised the price of the movie ticket or not. What if the reason for the decrease in attendance is because the price of the tickets is so high that the people can't afford it. If the price of the tickets gets high, people won't be using this Movie theatre for their leisure time. Another consideration that should be made is that whether another movie complex builds in the neighborhood recently or not. Maybe the reason of the decrease is because people attend the new movie thatre instead of the Super Screen Movie.

Third, it is not reasonable to draw a conclusion based on the fact that the problem is not with the quality of the Super Screen movies. What if the context of the film is okay but the sounding and the quality of the screen is bad? Also, what if the Super Screen Movie failed to provide suitable conditions in the theatre? For instance, is the quality of seats and the temperature of the room okay? Is there a good food station and bathroom provided for those who attend a movie in this place?

In order to improve the argument as a whole, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence and information before accepting or refusing it completely. We would need to know about the rate of the population in the last couple of years, the quality of infrastructure, the price of the movie tickets and other questions that we asked above.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffers from several problems and is unconvincing, but we cannot absolutely rely on it or refuse it without pursuing any additional assumptions and reasoning. The author can strengthen his or her assertion by changing states to the mentioned solution. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.