Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shadow of a doubt that sports and being physically active play a pivotal role in our lives. Some may hold a view that governments do not support arts like they support athletics, like Olympics teams, but others have a negative attitude toward it. Personally, I believe that governments should spend more money and support sports teams than they spend in art. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, in this sedentary life, being physically active is more important than in the past. With the advancement of technology, our physical activity is less a few decades ago. Obviously, governments should plan policies and decisions about this matter because it could affect people's health so easy. One of the policies could be supporting the Olympics and the athletes. If the government advocates them, they will succeed at the national level and they will be an inspiration for all people watching them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in elementary school, our national Volleyball team won the Olympics and received a gold medal. The team and their success motivated and inspired me so much that I got into the field of sport and practiced volleyball with my friend every day after school. Eventually, we grew up and not only we have healthy bodies, but also we have a healthy mind. As you can see, Sports can inspire people to be more healthy and happy. Secondly, if athletes being supported emotionally and financially, they can achieve a lot at the national level. Therefore, this could build a lot of good reputation for a country and not only the people will advantage from it, but also the government will benefit from it and make a lot of profit. For instance, China has very professional gymnasts. Over the past years, the Chinees government spends a lot of money to embrace gymnastic all over the country. As a result, Chinese gymnasts have won gold medals in every single Olympics. This success made other countries to hire mentors from china to teach their athletes gymnastic. Additionally, the government built museums about the history of this marvelous success and thousands of people from all over the world come to China just to visit these museums. This experience taught me that investing in sport can cause economic development. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the government should invest more in Olympic teams and athletic sport than in the arts. This is because in this way people will have healthy lives and also it will cause economic development.