Tradition vs modernisation

In the tussle between tradition and modernization, I choose pragmatism and logic. Before going further, I assume that tradition in the statement refers to the practice adopted in the society for several generations and modernization to be the paradigm that has sprouted in the past few years. Many modern practices and paradigms tend to be liberal and open in nature, freeing people out of the golden cage of tradition. At the same time, traditions have evolved over hundreds of years and fine-tuned to the local dynamics. Hence, we need to choose our approach in accordance to the situation at hand.

Modernisation in the fields of polity, transport, science and technology have largely advanced humans to a comfortable and equitable life. We take equality and fundamental rights for granted. Travel of thousands of miles can be covered in a few hours. It takes a few seconds to reach out to someone who stays diametrically opposite to us on the globe. Throughout our day, we come across gadgets, modern institutions, transport facilities that easen our lives. Hence, modernization can be seen as evolution of systems to suit the present global scenario. But, that may not be completely true.

Modernisation has failed to recognize the local necessities and fragility. For example, the crops that grow in the American tropical forests are different from the one that grow in the equatorial Indian plains. Consequentially, the food practices of both regions have been traditionally very different. Similar argument applies to clothing and many other day to dayactivities. Increasing inclination towards popular culture is slowly ruining the local environment.

On the contrary, many traditions practices are in sync with the local environment and perspectives. Traditional clothing and food habits optimally exploit the local environment, since the conditions are conducive for the growth such crops. Also, traditions offer us a way of looking at our own past and contemplate society’s journey and evolution over time. Hence, it is important to preserve traditional practices that have sound logical backing.

To conclude, though I agree that modernization has revolutionized the way we do things, blindly following what is famous and global has been causing unprecedented damage to our environment. At the same time, though certain traditional practices have been oppressive in nature, they suit the local environment. Hence, we must adopt “think globally, act locally” moto to consider each scenario, weigh what is practical and take a well deliberated situation.