"Tradition and modernization are incompatible. One must choose between them."

Must we choose between tradition and modernization, as the speaker contends.; I agree that in certain cases the two are mutually exclusive. For the most part, however, modernization does not reject tradition; in fact, in many cases the former can and does embrace the latter.

In the first place, oftentimes so-called "modernization" is actually an extension or new iteration of tradition, or a variation on it. This is especially true in language and in law. The modern English language, in spite of its many words that are unique to modern Western

culture, is derived from, and builds upon, a variety of linguistic traditions--and ultimately from

the ancient Greek and Latin languages. Were we to insist on rejecting traditional in favor of

purely modern language, we would have essentially nothing to say. Perhaps an even more

striking marriage of modernization and tradition is our system of laws in the U.S., which is

deeply rooted in English common-law principles of equity and justice. Our system requires that

new, so-called "modern" laws be consistent with, and in fact build upon, those principles.

In other areas modernization departs from tradition in some respects, while embracing it in

others. In the visual arts, for example, "modern" designs, forms, and elements are based on

certain timeless aesthetic ideals--such as symmetry, balance, and harmony. Modern art that

violates these principles might hold ephemeral appeal due to its novelty and brashness, but its

appeal lacks staying power. An even better example from the arts is modern rock-and-roll

music, which upon first listening might seem to bear no resemblance to classical music

traditions. Yet, both genres rely on the same twelve-note scale, the same notions of what

harmonies are pleasing to the ear, the same forms, the same rhythmic meters, and even many

of the same melodies.

I concede that, in certain instances, tradition must yield entirely to the utilitarian needs of

modern life. This is true especially when it comes to architectural traditions and the value of

historic and archeological artifacts. A building of great historic value might be located in the

only place available to a hospital desperately needing additional parking area. An old school

that is a prime example of a certain architectural style might be so structurally unsafe that the

only practicable way to remedy the problem would be to raze the building to make way for a

modern, structurally sound one. And when it comes to bridges whose structural integrity is

paramount to public safety, modernization often requires no less than replacement of the

bridge altogether. However, in other such cases architecturally appropriate retrofits can solve

structural problems without sacrificing history and tradition, and alternative locations for new

buildings and bridges can be found in order to preserve tradition associated with our historic

structures. Thus, even in architecture, tradition and modernization are not necessarily mutually

exclusive options.

To sum up, in no area of human endeavor need modernization supplant, reject, or otherwise

exclude tradition. In fact, in our modern structures, architecture and other art, and especially

languages and law, tradition is embraced, not shunned.