The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

In unity we stand, disunited we fall. The author contends that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government and other fields is by imbibing a sense of cooperation in them and not competition. I agree with the author, however, a leader must have a competitive spirit too.

Admittedly, team-spirit is key for the success of governance. A leader must be able to work as a team, and he or she must be able to reason with a member of his or her team. The leadership of a system is not a one-man duty, but the reasoning of a board or committee that collude together to lead a group of people either a country or other group. When there is cooperation in the leadership of a system, there is profitability because the people are one and they can work togther to achieve greater heights. For example, A company has a management board that makes the decisions taken by the company, if the management board is not united the company will fail because of conflict of interests among the boared members and if the board members are united the company is more likely to be successfull because the company will be making well premeditated decisions.

Also, it is important that a leader must be able to work with others. Since there is no sector or organisation that does not have a group of individuals as the leadership of the sector. Then the best way to prepare young people for leadership in any sector is to instill cooperation spirit in them. Looking at the Nigerian government for example, we have the President, Vice-President, the Senate, the house of assembly and so on, making decisions for Nigeria as a country, so Nigeria is not a country just controlled by one person let's say the president who makes all the decisions for the country. So, younger generations should be brought up in a way as to value cooperation in leadership in any system.

Finally, Cooperation increase productivity. Two heads is better than one, a government or industry that have a united spirit will have a successfull system; because the quality of decisions is proportional to the reasoning behind the decisions made. So a system that is lead by a group of individuals will make quality decisions that a system that is controlled by just an individual. Such individual may make rash decisions which can be detrimental to the system or sector he or she lead.

Finally, however, a leader must have a competition spirit because to succeed in a business amidst competitors.The leadership of system must be able to compete with others. For example, a company that produce sugar ,must be able to compete with other similar companys that produce sugar. Although, the strength of their competition still lies in the cooperation of the management board of the firm. So, cooperation is key in the leadership of any system and should be instilled in younger generations to have a better system.