The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter from a private school student to the principal of the school, It stated that If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for the school students. The student has come to this conclusion based on complain from the student and several of this friends. However before this conversation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, will all the students of the school bring lunch to school? In order words, is it convenient for all the students of the school to bring their lunch to school. It is possible that most of the students relie on the food from the cafeteria of the school. If this scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original document is weakened.

Secondly, Is the students complain from the low-fat, low-calorie meals served by the private vendor? Perhaps the students complain may be from the customer service of Swift and not the meals, so the students may not be eager to bring their own food, because they may even love the food of the vendor and the complain may just be from some set of students of the school that have problem with the vendor customer service. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the student is able to answer the two questions above and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation and change the vendor.