The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company(SSMPC). The author concludes that the problem of fewer people attending Super Screen-produced movies is due to poor advertisement. To support this conclusion, the author based his recommendation on Super Screen(SS) positive reviews not reaching the propective viewers enough. I find this argument unpersuasive, and the author must answer three questions to better evaluate this argument.

Firstly, Is the report based on a large scale of people? It is possible that the recent report just concluded on a scale of people that is not representative of the number of people the environment. Perhaps, the report is based on small group of people which is not enough to draw conclusions from. For example, maybe the report is just based on people in a town and not the whole environment in which SSMPC wants to cover. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, Is the percentage of the positive review an increase compared to other years and not just last year? It is possible that the percentage of positive review is a decrease compared to four years back and maybe last year is just a lull. Perhaps, maybe there was a panademic outbreak last year affected peoples reasoning and that made last year positive review to be extremely low. And, activities are back to normal this year and the number of positive review is still low compared to five years ago review. If the above is true, then the argument is based on unwarranted assumption.

Finally, Is the lower people attending SS-produced movies due to lack of public awareness? It is possible that the people are not interested in SS-produced movies and they are well aware of the SSMPC. Perhaps, the type of movies produced by SSMPC is not up to par anymore and people are dissappointed and not ready to waste their time watching SS-produced movies. If the above is true, then the argument is based on invalid assumption.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive, because the author needs to answer the above questions to strengthen the argument.