Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Before we can evaluate claims about the benefits of a particular diet, it’s important to tease apart where the science ends and the mythology begins. The argument that bone broth can help treat diseases because it’s a food that human ancestors ate depends on a variety of assumptions. There is no way to evaluate the strength of the argument without understanding what the assumptions are, whether they are valid or not, and what the impact would be on the argument if they turn out to be unfounded.

The most significant assumption made in this argument is that human ancestors ate in a healthy way. We can only guess what early human physiology was like and how it compares to the physiology of contemporary humans. Similarly, the argument assumes that food today is similar to food hundreds of thousands of years ago. Assuming that physiology and food are comparable, we must then assume that they will interact in the same way. The only evidence provided seems to be that bone broth has the mystique of ancient times, and people enjoy the fantasy of being connected to a timeless history.

Another important assumption related to human history is that early humans lived healthy lives. Surely the way humans evolved to eat is the most salubrious diet possible, the argument claims. There is anecdotal evidence that those who eat a paleo diet have lower rates of inflammatory diseases, but we must assume that there is a causal connection. Maybe those without those diseases prefer paleo diets for some other reason, or there may be a strong placebo effect. Ultimately, the argument assumes that anecdotal evidence without a properly controlled study is sufficient to conclude that eating a certain way will cure disease.

The argument brings up two potential nutrients found in bone broth, but never addresses the objections that these nutrients cannot be processed by the body. The assumption is that this problem is not important. Maybe the author assumes that the nutrients will find a way to get to where they are needed. Or maybe other as-of-yet unidentified nutrients are in the bone broth that can be absorbed. Fundamentally, the argument assumes that even though there is contrary evidence now, a convincing story about cave people is enough justification to ignore that evidence. The only positive evidence is that early humans must have known something, most likely without realizing it. The assumption is that as humans evolved, they would have eventually landed on healthy diets, that they must have existed in balance with nature. Despite the lack of evidence, the argument still assumes that humans today can and should emulate the original diet in order to achieve this balance again.

Ultimately, every step of the argument is based on assumptions that make up for the lack of evidence. If we assume that all of the assumptions are true, then it will be safe to draw the conclusion that paleo diets will help cure disease. However, without any evidence to help determine whether these assumptions are valid, there is no way to verify any of the claims, let alone the grand claim at the end. If any implication proves to be unwarranted, then we will not be able to conclude that paleo diets can treat disease.