Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Admittedly, peoples core belief on a topic cannot be totally changed by just a discussion. For example, a conversation between a christian, muslim and traditional worshipper about which religion is the right one will just be to a larger percentage a fruitless conversation because peoples belief in what they worship is rooted down in their mind. Some of them may have been practising this religion since birth and just a discussion with people that practise other religion will not change their mind.

Also, everybody is supporting their view in a conversation with little attention to what the other person is saying. For example, a discussion between people of different ethnic group. Each person in the discussion is supporting his/her culture and this is because that is what he/she has been exposed too maybe since birth and he/she beliefs she is right in her own way. This type of conversation will just be an argument, with everyone involved in the conversation pitching his/her own ethnic group and only a few with weak cultural background may agree with the other person in such discussion.

Furthermore, beliefs are from the heart of a person, so a single discussion attacking such beliefs cannot provide a change. For any person to experience a change of mind on core beliefs, he/she has to be exposed well enough to the contrasting view to fully understand the other person's point of view.

In conclusion, however, a discussion about a controversial topic with people with a contrasting view can help in changing each others mind, because such conversation can open the mind of the people involved in the discussion to what they do not know about the conflicting points. But, the question is how many people? Especially if the conversation is between dogmatic people, then I will conclude that the conversation is useless.