Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

People should have their privacy and should be able to decide who they want to share their thought with. In lieu of this, should Company management conduct routine monitoring of their employee's email correspondence in order to reduce waste of resources as well as protect the company from lawsuits? I totally disagree, with three reasons.

First of all, Company management monitoring employee's e-mail correspondence would be a breach of the employee's privacy. For example, an employee may be sharing his/her personal life with someone via e-mail and if such conversation is being monitored by the Company's management, It will not be fair to the employee's as anybody monitoring the conversation would know about such employee's personal life without the employee's permission. Such policy as monitoring employee's e-mail correspondence will not be fair to anyone that wants to share something personal or confidential.

Also, there won't be freedom of expression if employees know that their email correspondence is being monitored by the management. For example, an employer may want to communicate his or her exact mind to someone through email and because he or she knows that his or her conversation is being monitored, he or she may decide to communicate something totally different from his or her original thought. This could lead to an artificial conversation on mail and also, the employees may look for another platform to communicate their original thought and hereby forfeit the reason for which the management is conducting routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence.

Finally, a company management may argue that monitoring all employee email correspondence will protect the company from lawsuit. But, a situation where the employee are communicating through other means outside the company's monitoring scope will still put such firm in danger.