Tradition and modernization are incompatible. One must choose between them.

We have often been abreast of reports and news stories that highlight a clash between traditions and modernization and which makes us ponder upon the topic that whether the two are incompatible. In my opinion they are were always destined to be incompatible and also there are other explanations to it which I would discuss in the following 2 paragraphs.

Firstly, the tradition we vaunt about or are be such a braggadocio about all the time is nothing but an imagined reality that we believe on and that binds large sections of the society together. The different aspects of a tradition, its mores and rituals and etc. as explained in Dr. Yuval Noah Harari in examples in his best seller book, "Sapiens" state that these have no actual existence. There are no real existence traditions and everything it engenders. Traditions are belief systems that helps amass large masses of people together and have been doing since its inception during the cognitive revolution period of our hunter gatherer ancestors. It is rather a tool that helps humans communicate and cooperate in larger groups of more than thousands of individuals.

Secondly, the traditions we fear would be tampered by the onset of modernization are not native to the place itself. Modernizations have always determined what traditions would be for a place for a given time. Traditions changed with time and modernization. For example the Indian people first started using spice in their food when several spices and vegetables like tomato first originated in Mexico reached them via ships sailing on newly formed trade routes. It thus established the gastronomical preferences for the Indians. Similar example works for Italy as back in the day Julius Caesar never knew the use of tomato as ketchups and sauces and thus he never had Italian Pasta and Italian classics concomitantly with tomato sauce. No contemporary Italian cuisine and it's connoseuirs will be able to comprehend that.

Lastly, if we resist modernization to play its part in the transmogrification of traditions we fuel ignorance and the ignoramus population increases rapidly. What we see in various traditions around the globe where for example inequality between men and women have been concomitant, resist modernization resulting in immoral practices and rituals still being prevalent. With modernization the equality of genders has been one of the prime changes that the traditions were supposed to catch up. The long established patriarchal societies resist these changes are indolent to them. This has resulted in a significant number of violence and atrocities against women which could have been curbed, had the people not held dearly onto their traditions and purported perpetual beliefs.

One might argue that, traditions help shape a person and helps people comprehend the world with guidance. To that I say, why not let those people grow their comprehensive abilities based on nature and why not let him chose his own belief system or reasoning and rationality? In sum, there is no option to choose between tradition and modernization as the they cannot be juxtaposed and compared. One cannot help but let their tradition to metamorphose with time and modernization. Several had resisted, many are lost, many new emerged with modernization and this where we stand today in the contemporary world.