The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given recommendation claims that Grove College should remain as an all-female educational institution based on the fact that the majority of student respondents and over half of the alumnae respondents were opposed to coeducation. Even though the president and administrative staff who have made this recommendation seem to make a cogent case at the outset, the assumptions that the argument is based on needs to be scrutinized scrupulously before any decision is made.

First of all, the samples of the survey for the students and alumnae need to be investigated in depth. The reason for such a high rate of negative response towards the attempted change in policy could be because the people who are sensitive about the issue were eager to participate in the surveys. Those who are indifferent towards the matter could not have cared to answer the questionnaires, leading to a skewed result of the survey. Therefore, the details of the surveys should be revealed in order to claim that they actually do reflect the opinions of the whole population of students and alumnae. It could be possible that the student government only targetted students and alumnae who have previously expressed concerned about accepting men into the school. Or perhaps the surveys were only conducted for a small portion of the group, which would mean that that they would lack representativeness. If only 10% of the whole student body or alumane group answered to the surveys, it wouldn't be prudent to claim that the survey results actually are the opinion of the whole group.

In terms of the benefits expected from retaining the college all female, the argument assumes that morale among students will improve. However, there is no substantive evidence to support this assertion. For one thing, the college already is an all-female school, which means that maintaing its current status will not bring about any changes. Therefore, it is difficult to understand how the same status quo will stimulate morale among students. Also, the students didn't actually state that they feel morale will improve if the college maintains its current status, so this assumption is unwarranted. It could be possible that admitting men into programs will boost morale even more; because there is no data on how students actually feel when they study with people of the opposite sex, it is unreasonable to conclude that all-female education will better precipitate morale.

This logic can also be applied to the alumnae. The alumnae haven't actually stated that they will increase their financial support if the college retains its tradition in gender composition. As no change will actually occur if the school decides not to accept men, it is highly possible that alumnae support will actually remain the same. Even if the college provides substantive evidence of respondents saying that they will increase their donations, it is possible that these people's donations only comprise a small portion of the whole amount the school receives. Those who agree to accept men could be the ones making the mangnanimous donations, which means that not changing could rather lead to a decrease in school funding.

In conclusion, the argument makes unwarranted assumptions that need to be clarified before Grove College can make the most optimal decision. Unless the details of the sample of the surveys, as well as actual statistical data on expected student morale and alumnae financial support are provided, we cannot claim with certainty that maintaing an all-female education is the better option.