In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The expression "beginner's luck" will probably not be unfamiliar with most people. What it implies is that more often than not novices who are trying out something for the first time find themselves in a position quite superior compared to others. This phenomenon leads some people to believe that beginners are more likely to make important contributions in a field than experts. Although this situation might seem plausible in certain anecdotal evidence, it is more likely that those that are experienced in their field will make historical discoveries rather than beginners.

Admittedly, people who are starting anew at a field have the upper hand in regards to thinking more creatively, because they are relatively not as restrained to the extant conventions of the field. It is common to see many experts frustrated over their inability to think outside the box due to their unwitting complacency in their studies. Since beginners have less experience dealing with the new field, they have less of an idea on what is feasible and what is not, causing them to explore unorthodox ideas and methods, which could rather lead to surprising discoveries. For example, in the study of physics, while expert theorists are anguished about figuring out the logic of string theory, a completely unknowing bystander could accidentally give them a hint while making small talk, leading to the answer of the last piece of the puzzle.

However, cases where beginners make memorable contributions are highly unlikely in reality. Contributions can only be acknowledged as contributions when the person who has executed that discovery recognizes its meaning. For beginners, there is a high possibility that they will not be able to discern whether what they have achieved is a meaningful discovery due to their lack of knowledge in the field. Realizing that something could be a contribution is just as important as making that discovery, which means that experts are more likely to achieve that goal. If an attending physician found an antibiotic that could work effectively as an antiseptic for the common cold, he or she will be able to claim ownership of the findings. On the other hand, if a first-year medical student found that discovery, it is possible that he or she wouldn't even realize its importance and brush if off as trivial.

Also, nowadays, historical contributions do not appear out of thin air; they are usually made through the endeavors of dedicated experts in a certain field. Take, for example, the advancement of the semiconductor. Manufacturing a semiconductor wouldn't have been possible had there been no discoveries of the chemicals and the mechanisms which enable the chemicals to form a semiconductor. Furthermore, the amount of memory a semiconductor can store is improving every year because experts keep working on existing data to make new improved versions based on the old ones. These contributions are only possible because experts have accumulated the knowledge by ancestors and they know how to react to problems or unexpected situations based on that knowledge. Therefore, today's new discoveries can only be achieved by experts.

In conclusion, even though it can be tempting to say that historical achievements can be made by beginners, one shouldn't hastily accept this as fact. Beginners can admittedly think more creatively, but experts are the ones who actually can recognize a meaningful discovery when faced with one, and they are the ones who can make huge leaps of advancement for humanity. Therefore, experts can make more discoveries.