Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

To maintain a peaceful society, the constituents need to have a congruous idea of moral and ethics. In order to achieve this goal, the educational system should be able to teach students on how to think and behave in a moral conduct. Whereas some people say that education should be based on teaching morality itself, those on the other side claim that enlightening students on logical reasoning would be more beneficial for young people to become moral adults. Both sides have strong supporting evidence in their arguments, but developing the ability to think logically is the better method to maintain a moral society in the long-run.

Admittedly, understanding what it means to be moral in a society full of people from different backgrounds with various perspectives would be crucial for young people. As they grow, they form their own opinions on what it means to be a 'good' person, and what type of person they want to be. Because of that, adolescence is a crucial period in a person's life, and morality should be one of the most fundamental topics he or she should be taught. If people do not understand the concept of ethical behavior, they will not be able to function normally and interact with others as normal people would. This could lead to antisocial behavior, harming the order of the society. On the news and documentaries on TV, it is possible to see many criminals or patients who were raised in abusive homes or who were not educated on what morality is, which led to their current status. Therefore, it definitely is important that morality should be the core of education.

However, morality should not be the founding block of education. Teaching young people to think logically on what acting morally means sets up a more fundamental foundation in their minds about morality is. What sets humans apart from animals is the ability to think beyond basic instincts. We have the ability to decide what is right or wrong, and this deduction is led by logical reasoning. People will find themselves in many different situations the specifics of which could not have been taught at school, and if they are faced with a hardship, their ability of logical reasoning will help them overcome that situation. People should, therefore, be taught at a young age on how to think logically in order to deal with many unexpected situations.

It is also important to help young adults build their logical reasoning skills, because this will help them understand the current and future rules of society. The governing laws of a nation or state is based on the fact that humans are logical beings. For example, freedom of speech is allowed to the extent that it does not infringe upon other people's freedom of speech. This implies that one person's rights are fully supported until it impairs the freedom of someone else. It isn't esoteric to understand this law if one has the ability to think logically. It is only right that other people deserve equal respect as much as oneself, and this line of reasoning can be easily done if one has been taught the ability to reason logically.

In conclusion, to produce a moral society, teaching morality is unavoidable, but the more important education should be building a foundation of logical reasoning. By being able to think logically, people can make wise decisions in difficult situations, and they can more easily adapt to the governing laws of society. This will definitely aid in maintaining a moral and orderly society.