The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

WWAC radio station is apprehensive about declining listener numbers, and the manager has recommended changing the format of the station from playing rock-music to broadcasting news and talk shows. Although this argument seems cogent enough on the surface, more evidence is needed to convince the receivers of this memorandum that this option is the most optimal choice.

First of all, changing the radio station to operate in a news and talk format does not automatically guarantee a rise in listener numbers. The fact that this form of radio is growing in popularity in the radio station's target area implies that there already are other radio stations using this format. One can assume that because these other competitors already have the upper hand in the market with more experience and skills, WWAC radio station would not fare as well as the owners hope it would. Adverting from playing rock-music to transmitting news and talk shows is a not simple genre-change; it is close to a revolutionary upheaval of the whole managing system for the radio station. Therefore, it is highly unlikely that the station will bring in more customers with a change in format.

Another point to consider regarding the memorandum is that the manager makes a reckless assumption in that due to a decline in local sales of records, the residents of the area seem to be less interested in music than before. The sales figures of recorded music is not an adequate indicator for measuring interest in music, because there are many different ways to enjoy music today. It is rather cumbersome to carry around a CD player for people who want to listen to music when they are walking on the streets, so many prefer to stream music online or download mp3 files on their mobile phones. The advancement of the online music industry has attenuated the need for recorded music, which is presumably the reason for the decline in local sales. Based on this possibility, the evidence given in the memorandum does not accurately assess whether interest in music is limited. Therefore, switching to music tailored to the tastes of new residents in the area can still be a viable option. It would still be meaningful for the station to survey the people living in the area on whether they like to listen to music, and if they do, what genres they prefer.

It could also be possible that the root cause of the decline in listener numbers is not because that the station focuses on rock-music, but because of other problems in the broadcasting. Perhaps it keeps on playing music that is outdated that doesn't appeal to today's listeners anymore. Or perhaps the DJs of the shows are not performing well enough to appeal to listeners. Perhaps people are boycotting the companies that endorse the radio programs of the stations. As such, there are many other factors that could be causing the decrease in popularity. Unless the station does its due diligence in finding out what all the elements that can play a role in the situation and statistics that can support the evidence, the station should not be rash in jumping to conclusions.

In conclusion, on the outset, the managers suggestion in the memorandum seem to be legitimate, but there are many unanswered questions that need to be addressed first. The station should first prudently deliberate on whether changing the format will actually help gain more audience, and also whether interest in listening to music has actually decreased with the general public of the area. Last of all, it should go over all other possibilities that could have led to this situation other than the rock-music format.