The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It seems that society keeps shifting between cooperation and competition regarding which ability is more important for young people preparing for roles of leadership. Those who support competition say that competition is the true driving force for a person to work harder. On the other hand, other people claim that today's leaders need to learn to cooperate with others because problems, both world issues and technological, have become much more complex. I believe with the latter, in that educating a sense of cooperation is the best way to prepare young adults for leadership in goverment, industry, and other fields.

Admittedly, an optimal degree of competition is a good stimulant for people to realize their full potential. It drives people to go above the limits of their abilities in order to prove that they are as worthy as anybody else. For example, in university entrance exams, students are ranked according their scores. Therefore, students who want to be accepted to prestigious universities are instilled with the idea that they have to receive a higher score than others, enforcing them to study much harder. The amount of grit they attain through years of hard work train them to work harder at other things as well, likely leading them to earn leadership positions in their future careers. It is not likely for a student who was lazy in school to suddenly change his or her attitude and become an assiduous member of society as an adult.

However, even though the concept of competition may have a positive effect in developing future leaders, today's problems require leaders to be more cooperative with others. World issues such as global warming, Syrian refugees, and space exploration cannot be solved by one nation. Major global issues require communication between countries and support for one another. For example, in the case of attenuating global warming, experts from all around the world gather together to hold conferences about how to tackles this problem. Through theses meetings, countries agree that each of them should lower their emission of greenhouse gases. If one particular leader of a nation was only fixated on the interests of its own country, it would defy the agreement and argue that it needs to run its factories, a significant cause of global warming, to develop its industries. This would be showing a very poor leadership, because it would be alienating all of the other countries who might later be of help to that country. Therefore, as today's problems require the cooperation of world leaders, young adults should be trained to develop their cooperative skills.

Also, technological improvements have caused professionals of different areas to work together. For example, the IoT technology not only requires the knowledge of how the IoT technology itself works, but in order to connect it to other devices, people need to be knowledgeable about mobile phones, TVs, air conditioners, and other electronic devices. It has become common for pepole from different departments and companies to work together, because these associations have produced synergy effects. Also, in the case of smart phones, it is not only important for companies to develop the specifications of their items. The design of the product as well as how it is marketed has become important as well. So divisions gather together to discuss these matters even before the item is made.

In conclusion, even though nurturing competitiveness in young students might seem an effective method to develop leaders, I believe that cooperativeness is a more important trait in today's world. World issues need leaders of all nations to amicably communicate with each other, and technological developments have made it necessary for people from different fields to come together and make improvements from the current status.