Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Before releasing a new piece of artwork, applying for tryouts for a sports team, or going public with any type of material they have worked on, people usually ask for advice from others. Sometimes they receive constructive feedback, and sometimes it turns out that the comments are not actually as helpful as they had hoped. This type of situation makes a person wonder if critical judgement by others is only beneficial when it is given by people who are experts in the related field. Some people could argue that even laymen could give critical judgment, but I don't believe that is the case. The general public could be helpful in giving people a hint of an idea that could be helpful, but only experts have the capacity to give constructive criticism.

Admittedly, in most cases, anyone's comments about other people's work can be helpful. As the saying goes, "Two heads are better than one", so judgments made by fellow peers, mentors, or even strangers can help a person find his or her righteous path if something is wrong. However, there is doubt as to how much of a help they can be. If one has a lack of experience or knowledge in the field, there is a limit to how much he or she can fundamentally help a person in that typical field. For example, if amateur golfers see a neophyte trying to play golf for the first time, they could assist the helpless novice in fixing his or her posture. However, there is a limit to the amount of advice they can give, as they are not professionals themselves, and are also still learning. The judgement they give towards the beginner is based mostly on shallow knowledge and conjecture about what would be appropriate. People who are not experts, in this way, cannot give convincing critical judgments.

On the other hand, experts can give excellent personalized advice to other people. The reason their opinions can give a critical amount of benefits to others is because these people have gone through all the process that others in the same field are going through. Having prior knowledge about what people are experiencing, and what they will probably experience in the future allows them to give judgments tailored to the needs of others. Therefore, their critical judgments are not to help people out with their work, but also timely to help them out with their progress, encouraging them to have more confidence in themselves.

Also, experts can give much more coherent advice than the average person. Since professionals are those that have accumulated a tremendous amount of knowledge in their respective fields, their though process are relatively more organized than others. For example, when a graduate student discusses his or her idea regarding a thesis, it is possible for him or her to get tongue-tied due to lack of knowledge. However, just by listening to the key words of the idea, professors readily grasp what the student is trying to convey in the paper, and guides the pupil to right a cogent and persuasive paper. What could be just a bad random mix of possibly good ideas could actually fulfill their potentials with the critical assessment of an expert.

In conclusion, even though most people can give advice to some degree regarding others' work, there are limits in the depth of their opinions. On the contrary, experts can give more one-on-one advice and deliver their judgement more clearly due to the copious amounts of knowledge and experience they have. Therefore, it would be wise for people to focus more on the advice experts in their field give them.