Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With humanity's endless endeavors for the development of technology, the pollution and destruction of the environment have occurred as problematic byproducts. A variety of species have become or are at the verge of extinction and a growing number of people are demanding that society make efforts to save endangered species. This opinion is met with a counter position claiming that humans take action only if the danger of the species is the result of human activities. Although both sides make compelling arguments, I believe that humans should try to save all endangered species regardless of who is to blame for the cause.

Admittedly, it could seem like society should first take care of matters that are directly caused by human activities, because as it is the humans who have caused the problems, they are the ones that are most equipped to solve them. Morally, people should do their due diligence to clean up the mess that they have made. There are, in fact, many research data indicating that many animals are being threatened with maintaining their species because of reckless activities carried out by humans, such as lumbering, chemical waste disposal and toxic gas emissions. The animals that are in harm's way are simply collateral damage in humans' lust for a better civilization, and they indeed have the responsibility to take care of these matters first and foremost.

However, it is quite difficult to definitely discern whether the endangerment of a species was or was not related to human activities. According to the 'butterfly effect', even the smallest flutter of wings of a butterfly in China can lead to a destructive storm in the US. Everything, in essence, is connected to each other, and from this perspective, we can't say with conviction that humans are not responsible for all endangered species. People's actions have, in some way, aided in creating this problem, so society should strive to save all types of species even if the direct cause is not clearly visible.

Also, in order for the ecosystem to function properly, people should strive to save all endangered species. As there are a tremendous amount of different types of animals inhabiting the Earth, humans haven't been able to draw a full picture on exactly how the food chain of wild species evolve and change. Even the slightest anomaly or change caused by unnatural forces could lead to a devastating result; we just don't have all the facts to say for certain what our actions will lead us to. There is a case in Australia, that years ago, because the country was infested with too many mice, the country decided to import rabbits that are predators of the species. It was found that this method was effective, but the rabbits multiplied in such an extreme degree, that they are now threatening the existence of other enemy species of the rabbit. In such a case, humans cannot predict what their actions will bring exactly, so they should try to preserve all species.

In conclusion, even if it may seem plausible for society to take care of matters that are direct results of their actions, this is a short-sighted opinion. People should be aware that their actions can cause ripple effects, and they should be responsible for the whole animal species.