Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Faculty members in colleges and universities continuously contemplate on what would be the best way to teach their students. To achieve this goal, some people claim that mandating professors to attain work experience in fields relevent to their teaching field will be optimal. On the other hand, some people assert that this is an unnecessary measure, and that the choice to work outside the academic world should be optional. I agree with the former position, in that this policy should be made a requirement.

Admittedly, giving more autonomy to professors on whether to gain more field experience could seem like the better choice, as they have enough maturity to decide what is best for them. Some majors taught in colleges may even be better off without the faculty losing their time on engaging in extracurricular activities, because they would learn more by doing experiments in school or studying academic journals. For example, in the case of english literature, if a professor's specific field of interest is literary history, diving into old classics and researching information about prominent historic authors would be more helpful than working at a publishing company. Meanwhile, a professor who teaches recent english literature trends would benefit from the aforementioned work experience, because he or she will be able to achieve data relevent to the field of interest hands-on.

However, making the policy optional can lead to more disadvantages than advantages. First of all, some professors could be reluctant to work in companies. To gain a position as a professor requires a person to go through years of ardous hard work and studies, and once people reach that goal, some could prefer to enjoy the prestigious position that they have earned. If there is an optional policy to gain more experience and for them to learn from people outside the academic field where they are not as omniscient as they are in school, they could refrain from these ventures because it could hurt their pride.

Also, professors should be pushed to learn new things in the working field for the benefit of the students they teach. People are liable to get complacent with the work that they do when they have been in that position for a long time. This can be an insidious poison for professors. For example, it is common to see MBA students complaining that the class material they're taught in school is outdated. Since gathering recent data and information in the field is difficult for professors because companies are cautious about their company strategies, class materials used in MBA courses are those that have already been revealed to the public or those that are obsolete to be useful. For professors who teach MBA courses, offering students with vital knowledge about the business world is a vital necessity, so they should be required to gain more experience in the working field.

In conclusion, the facultuy of colleges and universities should be enforced to take time working in companies outside the academic world. This will not only benefit their classes, but this will encourage them to not be complacent in their position.