As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The advancement of technology has allowed people to retain a secure quality of living. From the microwave to the automobile, an abundant amount of different gadgets surround our daily lives. Since technological improvements have allowed us to take care of various tasks much easily than a few hundred years ago, some people have started to get the notion that an excessive reliance on technology will deteriorate humans' ability to think. At the outset, this seems like a legitimate claim, but in actuality, I believe that the need for humans to think more creatively and solve more complex issues has become a much more relevant issue than in the past.

Admittedly, the advent of a tremendous amount of different electronic appliances have allowed humans to readily solve their day-to-day problems. For example, the calculator can solve complex arithmetics with a simple touch of the button. It is tedious for people to manually add and subtract numbers if there is a long list of numbers to caculate. However, inordinate use of this tool can deteriorate people's ability to do simple math equations, which could be problematic if they wind up in a situation where the calculator is not available. Similar, but a more grave danger can arise in schoolwork. It is not uncommon to see many students handing in homework that is a plagiarism of another person's work. It has become extremely convenient for people to go online and purchase, or simply copy, what other people have written. This has become a serious problem in the educational system, because it infringes upon other people's copyrights, and deters students from contemplating on issues by themselves.

However, the aforementioned disadvantage is relatively minor to the benefits that technology has brought upon today's world. Compared to the age of the Industrial Revolution, the vast majority of the population today can live up to the average living standards due to the development of technology. While it was more vital for people to maintain a living as equal to other people in the past, since this goal has more or less been achieved in most parts of the world, being different has become the rising focus of interest. Creativity is valued more than ever, and copious amounts of people are finding ways to stand out from others. For example, companies are trying to market their products as unique, and so many people are making Youtube videos that can catch people's eye. Regarding Youtube contents, creators are trying to provide materials that are new and different, because it is what more people are fascinated about today. Therefore, the need for people to think more creatively has become more germane than ever.

Also, technological advances have made all learning materials more complicated, which means that humanity's ability to think will become more sophisticated. People have made inventions and discoveries that were unthinkable just a few hundred years ago; we now are able to fly, we can drive long distances, and we can talk to people in other countries with the use of the telephone. The various convenient devices have put forth more challenging tasks for people, such as space exploration and autonomous cars. This means that technology has become more sophisticated, and people will have to think more intensely to figure out how to make new technological achievements.

In conclusion, technology will rather make people think more intensely than ever. It is a misnotion if people believe the opposite.