Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given memo, the advertising director states that Super Screen Movie Production Comapny should increase its budget for advertising next year to increase the number of people coming to see its movies. At the outset, the argument seems to make a cogent case with sufficient evidence, but scrupulous investigation of the contents reveal that there are many unanswered questions that first need to be addressed before the plan to increase the budget is approved.

First of all, the positive reviews that were received during the past year need to be scruitinized. The memorandum does not give information about how many reviews there were, meaning that the total number of reviews might not even be large enough to represent the opinions of all the people that saw the company's movies. If there were only ten reviews when the company produced ten movies last year and a total of one million people saw the movie, the number of reviews would be too small to say that the reviews can be generalized to the whole movie goers. Meanwhile, even if there was a significant number of reviews, if the increase in the percentage of positive reviews was only one percent, it would be difficult to say that this amount is significant enough to indicate better quality movies. The company should disclose full details and statistics about the rise in the percentage of positive reviews and exactly how many reviews there were in order to make this evidence convincing.

Another point to consider is the lack of foundation for establishing a causal relationship between the existence of positive reviews and fewer viewership. Even if there was a significant amount of positive reviews proving that the movie company's movies were indeed well-made, this doesn't automatically point to the fact that there was a lack of public awareness about the movies. The author of the memo is jumping to conclusions because there could have been other factors that prevented people from going to the movies during the past year. There could have been a sufficient amount of advertising and people had indeed acknowledged the fact that Super Screen movies were showing, but other much important events could have occurred at the same time the movies were released. For example, the country could have been the host of major international sports games such as the World Cup or the Olympics, which would have made them become more immersed in these games rather than movies. It could also be possible that the nation was undergoing political unrest, and people didn't have the luxury to go to the movies. Unless the company investigates whether the people who didn't go see its movies was because of a lack of advertisement or other factors, the author of the memo should not jump to conclusions.

In conclusion, the memo does not provide clear evidence to substantiate that an increase in advertising will ensure that more customers will come see their movies. Statistical details about the reviews need to be disclosed and more supporting evidence regarding the relationship between positive reviews and lack of advertisement needs to be established.