Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Regarding politics, it seems like there is no definitive right answer on what is the most optimal course of action. Some people assert that government officials must adhere to the will of the nation's people, whereas others emphasize that officials should make their own judgments when making decisions. I agree with the latter opinion because managing a country is not only about listening its people, but maintaing a good relationship with other countries and setting out long-term plans for improving the nation's welfare.

Admittedly, addressing the needs of the people the government serves is a vital aspect of politics. After all, most politicians and formal officials are elected by the people based on how much their agendas meet the desires of its people. The government then can readily maintain peace and order when it adheres to the voices raised by its constituents. If the will of the people are not addressed, it could lead to political unrest and people are likely to engage in protests. For example, the United States has fought with the LGBT community for a long time on the legalization of gay marriage. Even though the voice of the homosexual community became stronger, the government was hesitant on approving the law, which led many people to walk the streets and formally request their rights. It finally induced many states to approve the law, and local governments are being lauded for their actions. They have raised much more support from their local residents, and many people have expressed more satisfaction with the government.

However, the government's goal is not only to maintain peace within the country, but also to maintain peace with other formidable countries as well. In today's world, a nation cannot survive on its own, as it has become necessary to trade goods with other countries as well as form alliances to solve global issues. The reason a select number of politicians and government officials exist is because they are the ones most knowledgeable about these issues with more experience. They know what is the most prudent course of action in terms of the fate of the country as a whole. For example, Korea and Japan has a long tradition of animosity between each other because Korea was part of the Japanese colony for a few decades in the early 1900s. Most of the Koreans have underlying hostility towards the Japanese people, but the government does not bring these emotions under the limelight when meeting with the Japanese authorities. It is important that the government remain calm and act rationally in order to maintain peace in the Southeast Asia region. If Korea engages in some sort of dispute with Japan, it would disrupt the order in the whole dynamic of the relationship with other countries as well, including China and North Korea.

Additionally, the government officials are the ones who can look at the bigger picture. The country needs to think about its improvement in the next 50, 100 years. The people are mostly focused on their own well-being and how the government is supporting them to maintain a well-to-do lifestyle. However, the government needs to look at the forest and not the trees, because it is crucial for the country to retain sustainable development in order to compete with other countries. For example, in Korea in the 1970's, the president set out a 5-year economic development plan. The country encouraged foreign investments and provided subsidies for prospective companies so that the country will drastically improve its economic status. Some people were doubtful of the idea because it didn't really help the citizens as a whole, but today, Korea boasts a healthy economy.

In conclusion, even though government officials are elected to serve the needs of its people, it is more important to make their own judgments. The country needs to maintain peace inwards, but also with other countries and set plans for the future.