Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Government officials should base their decisions on their own judgment and while making those decisions they should not carry out the will of the people they serve.

The demand of mankind has no boundary: it never ends. Sometimes those demand of one person contradicts with the demands of others, and hence while serving mass people there must be strict rules and regulations and where rules-regulations are not enough, judgment of the official serving those people must be applied. For example, in a public hospital patients come with various problems. Every person thinks their problem is more severe and they should get priority. However, from neutral point of view there are some people who truly deserves attention before others. So, in that case if the officials consider the will of the people they serve there will be a chaos and the environment of the hospital will be disturbed. Strong rules and regulations can solve the problem, however, there are some times where rules and regulations are not enough and in that circumstances the judgment of the official is necessary. It makes sense that, a patient with a severe heart attack should not be kept in long line and deserves emergency attentions from the hospital officials.

Passport offices, where people of each and every class of society gathers, require a long procedure which are some times onerous for old citizens. There are also some people who do not know anything about the procedures of the office. However, all of them want that their work must be done first. On that case though there may be regulations of serial maintaining, official can consider the condition of the old people by using there moral judgment and may serve them first.

In a ticker counter of railways, long lines are commonplace. However, there may be a passenger whose train is going to leave the station and though he is way behind official must serve him considering his emergency. But, it is also true all of the passengers will then demand that they also have emergency and they should be served first but it is the duty of the officials to keep the environment under control and persuade the other passengers using his judgment.

Though it is true that sometimes poor judgment of the officials may create chaos and may disrupt the system, it is the duty of the government to ensure that the person it is employing has strong judgment capability and should arrange a test which will measure the judgment capability of the officials before appointing them.

Government officials must use their own judgment while serving and should not pay attention to the will of the people they serve.