Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many

consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive

discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption

of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year,

Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than

any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the

neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last

two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms.

The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many

serious gastrointestinal disorders.

The human digestive system is complex and sensitive. In this prompt, the author highlights a singular substance involved in the digestive process - motilac - to explain statistics regarding gastrointestinal disorders in the neighbouring towns of Greenhorne and Etolin. Namely, that the decrease in reported gastrointestinal disorders in Greenhorne's hospitals correlates to the an increase in the town's citizens' consumption of dietary supplements containing motilac; and that the equivalent decrease in reported gastrointestinal disorders in Etolin's hospitals correlates to a decrease in its citizens' usage of dietary supplements with motilac. This logical argument is extremely flawed, as it draws a generalising conclusion simply from one statistical element. Below, two alternative explanations show how this argument is weak.

Let us begin with the lack of evidence. The author argues that dietary supplements containing motilac ease digestive discomfort. Consequently, the smaller numbers of reported gastrointestinal disorders results from it. The first question to be asked is, how do these supplements correlate to the prevention or even cure of gastrointestinal maladies? Motilac supplements are said to "ease digestion". It is bold to assume that something that eases digestion can in any way prevent much graver gastrointestinal disorders. As it is presented, it sounds like motilac is a run-of-the-mill dietary supplement that eases digestion in, for example, chronically ill people. This would necessarily mean, on the one hand, that motilac would not be a curative, given the perennial condition of a chronic illness. On the other hand, as is the case with most dietary supplements, according to recent statistics, it would hardly be the case that a dietary supplement would be a panacea. One could consider, perhaps, that in the last couple of years, facing the immiment crises of obesity and poor nutrition, the townhall conducted sensibilisation dietary campaigns. It could have partnered with schools, supermarkets, and restaurants to promote a healthier diet and lifestyle and to subdue the use of fats, sugars, etc. It is much more likely that changes in diets account for actual decrease in reported symptons - if one were to accept the equivalence between a healthier diet and a healthier body. If such were the case, a motilac dietary supplement could indeed further promote a good, sound diet and digestive system. However, on its own, motilac could never be the root of the cause of less reported gastrointestinal diseases. Ultimately, we need to know what else could have changed in the town's citizens' habits.

But does decrease in reported diseases actually mean less diseases? The author anchors a correlation between the decrease in reported gastrointestinal illnesses in Greenhorne to the increase in the equivalent statistics of Etolin's hospitals in the consumption of motilac supplements. It could be simply the case, however, that Greenhorne's hospitals have stopped attending to gastrointestinal disorders as they did in the past. Imagine, for example, that there was a reform in the health system of the region that encompasses these two neighbouring towns. As a consequence of this reform, it was decided that the gastrointestinal services in Greenhorne should be transferred to the newer, more adequate facilities of Etolin's hospital. In their turn, Greenhorne's hospitals expanded their neurological services. This would necessarily mean that any patients with symptons of gastrointestinal disorders in Greehorne would instead go to Etolin to the doctor. If both Etolin's and Greenhorne's citizens were to use the gastrointestinal ward in Etolin's hospitals, then this would obviously lead to a steady increase in the usage of its services. Thus, in this scenario, motilac supplements would play no role whatsoever in these statistics and the author's forced correlation would stand as spurious.

In conclusion, as it stands, the argument is flawed. A lot more causes could be, and probably are, at the root on an increase and decrease of reported gastrointestinal disorders, respectively, in Etolin and Greenhorne. As stated above, the digestive system is too complex for one possible trigger to be the cause for a synchronised bettering - or worsening - of a whole town's citizens' digestive processes. It would be interesting to understand, indeed, what impact motilac has had in the health of these citizens. However, a much more intricate study must be conducted that includes a lot more variables than the ones presented in the original prompt.