73.The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that Mozart School of Music is the best choice for children who want to take music lessons. The supporting evidence the school's website gives for this claim is that, first, everyone can enroll because there are no auditions. Also, the school provides classes on all types of instruments and genres, and the teachers include famous artists in the area. Furthermore, apparently, graduates of the Mozart School have become prominent musicians. At the outset, the argument seems to make a cogent case with its evidence, but there are many unanswered questions that first need to be addressed.

First of all, the fact that all young children regardless of their age and abilities are allowed to attend the school can rather hinder the development of students' musical abilities. Music schools are different from ordinary public schools in that their purpose is to nurture musical prodigies. These schools help children realize their full musical potential by providing immersive music-related courses. If children of varying musical abilities attend the school, it will be difficult for instructors to engage in advanced courses, because they will have to cater to the needs of the kids who fall behind. This will be disadvantageous to the students who are more capable of carrying out complex tasks.

Also, one could be doubtful of the level of expertise the instructors of the school has if the school provides courses on all musical instruments on all types of genres. There are numerous types of instruments in the world, and it is difficult for a person to master even one instrument in his or her lifetime. Therefore, it is highly unlikely that the teachers of the school are proficient in all the instruments. Perhaps, the school could be making false claims on its wide range of instruments and styles, when in actuality, there are only a few. The school should provide information on exactly on what kinds of instruments and musical styles are taught and how experienced the teachers are to assure parents of the children that it is indeed competent.

A different, but related, point of contention is whether the distinguished musicians in school do have distinguished teaching abilities. It could be possible that these teachers were naturally gifted and didn't receive much education when they were students. These people might not be able to help children build a sturdy foundation in developing their abilities because they are not good at teaching. Again, the school should provide more information on how much teaching experience the instructors have; promoting famous musicians might attract the attention of the parents at first, but if they are incapable of providing quality classes, this effect will not last.

Finally, it would be more informative if the argument could provide more details about the school's graduates. It is definitely encouraging to see that former students have attained prestigious positions as musicians, but there is a lack of information on how long they attended the school. In reality, it is common to see institutions promoting that their graduates have achieved phenomenal success when, in actuality, they only attended the institution for a short period of time and were taught elsewhere. Therefore, to convince the parents that it was the education from the Mozart School that enabled the graduates to be highly-accomplished musicians, the school should disclose more information about their school attendance records.

In conclusion, even though the Mozart School of Music seems to offer a convincing claim to prospective customers, when analyzed with scrutiny, it is possible to see that many details have been overlooked, and some information are rather ineffective to promote the school. First, the fact that all types of children can enroll is rather disconcerting. In regards to more information, the details of the instruments and the courses, as well as teachers' work experience and graduates should be provide.