Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There has always been a number of disputes regarding university education. Whereas one side of the contention have argued that students should be offered various courses outside the scope of their major, the opposite have claimed that students should take courses that help prepare them for a career in their preferred jobs. While both sides seem to make a cogent case on the outset, I firmly believe that universities should focus on allowing students to take different courses unrestrained to their field of study.

Admittedly, a college degree gives people an upper hand when they are applying for a job in the field that they have majored in school. One of the main reasons high school students decide to enroll in universities is for this very purpose. If a company has to select one of two prospective candidates for a position, it would lean towards the person that has university education in the field that the position is related with. This example shows that receiving an ample amount of education in a certain field not only empowers people to accumulate more knowledge on the subject, but helps them become more appealing to potential bosses they will be working for. With the incremental rise of global unemployment rate every year, attaining a respectable job has become many people's primary goal in life, and it is understandable if students prefer to take courses that will help them prepare for their future jobs.

However, we must think about why universities were founded in the first place. The fundamental purpose of a university is to have an institution that can provide advanced knowledge on a variety of areas to the broader public. These institutions were not intentionally built to prepare people for future careers; it was the attainment of knowledge that led to the existence of these establishments. If universities are only focused on the output of their graduates, they are liable to fall into the trap of forgetting the bigger picture. Universities have a duty to the public and its students to first and foremost provide the best quality education as possible, and this cannot be achieved if the main focus is on preparing students for a job.

On a different, but related note, enforcing students to take classes outside of their main field of study can rather play a pivotal role in the work students later pursue in life. Rarely do high school students acknowledge what they want to do for the next fifty years of their life; they are easily swayed by the opinions of other people, and a large portion of them choose majors that are recommended by other people. There are indeed some gifted young adults who realize what their true calling is at a young age, but this is not that common for most of the students. This is where universities step in. They can open new doors for students who hadn't realized their full potential or interests in high school by providing a variety of different courses to choose from. With a mandated policy requiring students to take different classes, students might be able to find their true potential and underlying abilities that they have never known before.

In conclusion, although it is beneficial for students-to a certain degree-to take courses that will prepare them for their future careers, they should be able to, or rather required to, take courses outside of their majors. There are still a lot of things these young adults don't know about themselves, which could be learned by taking different courses. Also, we should remember that the main reason a university exists is to educate people.