The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in an

It seems logical, at first glance, to agree with the advertising director's claim that to captivate more number of people towards the movie made by Super Screen movie company, they should augment their budget for advertising and diffusing awareness among more and more number of its customers. However, to completely evaluate his claim, we would need some significant evidences. It is possible that the claim could end up being weaker than it seems or it could actually be quite valid. To make that determination we would need some empirical evidences.

The first piece of evidence that we would need to evaluate the director's argument is the actual reason behind the attrition in number of people who prefers watching Super Screen movies. The director here posits that fewer people people attended last year and that could be only because they were not actually cognizant about those movies. However, it is viable to think that even if the people were well informed about the presence of those movies they did not go to watch it. They could have their own personal reason behind this. It is possible that most of the people just do not like that genre of movie. The movie might be a horror movie and people generally do not prefer to watch it because of personal inclinations. If the Super Screen movie will make a movie congruent with the interest of people, then they could easily attract those customers for business without squandering in advertising.

Another piece of evidence required to warrant the argument is about the exact decrease in number of people last year. It is feasible that the out of 100 people only two or three people did not went to watch the movie. Although this will being a decrease in percentage but such a token decrease will be inconsequential into making such hasty conclusions.

Even if the percentage decrease is huge last year, the director fails to dictate the exact percentage of positive reviews by the movie reviewers. It is plausible to think that there is not much difference in these percentage. It could be like, out of hundred reviewers, 50 of them did not like the movie and 51 liked the movie. Therefore, although the positive review percentage is high than the negative one, it is peripheral. It is injudicious to think that there movies are good and they should not use their budget in fixing the rating of their movies.

The author comes into such optimistic conclusions without reflecting upon these questions and details which makes his argument very tenuous and weak. Instead of spending lavishly in advertising, he should increase the level of his movies and also should do an insightful analysis of his customers likes and dislikes. He should consider these analysis while making his movie. Also, he should not be hasty into predicting the future of Super Screen movies by just looking at what happened last year. It is foolhardy to think that the situation that took place last year will be the same for next coming years also. Hence, the argument need many empirical evidences and details to be valid and justifiable.