The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that in recent years Super Screen-produced movies are not reaching the people/public efffectively, which inturn calls for the increase in budget for the following year to reach the audience. The argument, however, fails to make an effective argument in trying to convince the Super Screen to increase it's budget for advertizements for reaching out to larger mass.

The argument relies on the survery that is published by the marketing department. The marketing department, however, has no where mentioned the number of people who watched Super Screen-produced movies in the previous years. Non-specificity of exact numbers of people who watched Super Screen-produced movies in the previous would beg the question of "fewer than?".

Additionally, the argument bases it's argument on the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers. The calls for numerous questions as the percentage doesn't indicate the true figures. For example, if a person watched the movie and reviews positively and that person being only one to watch the movie, then it would make the percentage equal to 100. If ten people watch the movie the next year and nine out of those reviewed positively, then it would make the percentage to be equal to 90. Clearly, in the latter year larger number of people watched the movie. Had the argument given the numbers along with the percentage, then it would make sense which inturn may convince the Super Screen to increase it's budget for reaching out to larger mass.

Finally, the argument is also basing it's premise on the quality of the movie. May be the quality of the movie is good, the people may watch the pirated version of the movie. The argument doesn't mention about the ticketing cost of these movies.People may find these movies costly and hence may wish look for other sources of watching the movie.

The Super Screen may agree to increase to increase it's advertizing budget, but the way argument is structured for persuading the Super Screen to increase the budget is flawed and require corrections.