The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Complete knowledge on a subject can be attained if one thinks like the founder of the solution. In other words, one must be in the shoes of the founder.

Therefore, the initial step to self-knowledge ignoring that there exisits a familiar method or a similar method.

It has been long known that Pythogores is one of the prominent figures in the field of mathematics becasue of his theorem of right angle triangle.He said that the square of the third side(hypotenues) of the right angled triangle is equal to the sum of the squares of the remaining two sides(adjacent) in a right angle triangle.We have been studying this since our school days. Imagine if you are an ameteur math student and you manage to come up the same idea without knowing that there exist a theorem for this. This is almost equal to discovering a new theorem. In fact it wouldn't wrong if I say that the founder possess the ultimate knowledge of the method or the thing that was founded.

It would be very hard to surpass, in terms of knowledge, the founder of the method itself for the one who learnt the theorem.

Additionally, ignoring the familiar would also lead to new innovations. For example, Ford wouldn't have come up with eight cylinder engine if he were to accept the fact that most of the vehicles during the period used to run on four stroke engine.It can be reasoned that the rejection of the familiarity leads to more different thinking on how to approach a problem which eventully lead to self-knowledge.Would you be able to imagine how this world would have been if every ancient man/woman stuck to their daily visicittudes and not come up with any innovations?

In fact, to grasp the complete knowledge on any subject one must be in the shoes of founder and act like he/she is encountering the problem for the first time.

However, trying to find the solution to a problem like the founder do may lead to wastage of time. One must also think of using a familiar knowledge to find new things.

With all that being said, we cannot ignore the fact that the complete knowledge is attained if one rejects the familiarity and thinks like a founder.