Claim: An piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual turns out be inaccurate.

The recommendation presents a view that I would like to agree is authentic. Facts are the truths that are grounded on certain empirical evidences and therefore, people always believe a fact to be credible. However, many times we do not know about the authenticity of those evidences or it can be like we do not even try to verify it until some radical person questions it with major evidences. Although there are some phenomenons which could not be proved to be false or spurious, since they are proved to be the universal truth.

This blanket statement would obviously pay its dividends in situation where the facts rely on unwarranted assumptions. For example, initially everyone believed earth to be a flat surface. It was a known fact for everyone until the study of natural science came into force and it substantiated that earth is round. Also, it was believed that sun is the one who moves around earth which became a truly illogical statement now as we know that it is the earth who rotates around sun along with different planets. Therefore, with time and technological advancement new theory come into life which sometimes debunk the pervasive facts.

To expand on this point, it is important to grasp that the new generation will always be more intelligent than the old because they already have certain findings and resources after which they can go further and find new theories. For example, the reason behind mirage for unknown to everyone in history and also there were times when it was known to be some evidence of supernatural forces. All of these absurd theories were proved wrong when we came to know that mirage is nothing but mere a reflection of light. Consequently, there are times when certain illogical things when said thousand of times are accepted as a universal fact unless an inquisitive perception come into action and prove those facts to be false and apocryphal.

I do, however, greatly support the idea of the claim that facts could be proven wrong in future, but there are some facts which stand strong on the basis of credible evidences and they also helps the further advancements in that respective field of study. For example, Newton's three laws are universal facts and it is the basic of physics or we can say foundation of physics without which most of the theory of physics cannot be proved to be justifiable. These facts can never be proved wrong.

Clearly, facts which stands on mere unjustifiable assumptions could always be proved wrong in future. There are some facts present which can never be proved wrong in future since it stands on certain warranted evidences. However, most of the facts are generalized versions of simple assumptions which will get proved to be specious in future with valid evidences.