The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council."An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East M

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument in the newsletter that to abridge absenteeism in schools and workplaces, daily use of nutritional supplement should be used as it will help to prevent cold. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end being much weaker than it seem, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more then analyze what we learn.

The first piece of evidence that we would need in order to evaluate the argument is information about the climatic condition,number of population present in East Meria and also types of people who took part in that analysis on the basis of which study report was concluded. The newsletter provides no information about the validity that all these conditions are same for East Meria as it is in West Meria. If these conditions are not same then it is not plausible to compare two different things. It is possible that the people of East Meria are more robust because of their rigid climatic conditions so they do not catch cold easily. Fish nutrients are helpful also but they are already immune to such fragile conditions. This makes the conclusion of the argument to be unfeasible.

Another piece of information that might help us to warrant the argument is information about different type of reason that to could reach in causing cold to people. Even if the the study reports are authentic and credible, it is not viable to think that only because of fish consumption the people of East Meria are not catching cold. There could be other precautions that they might have been taking to be immune towards cold.

Also, the author of newsletter has failed to take into account the details because of which less number of people visit doctor. He is becoming injudicious to think that number of people who are visiting doctor is equal to number of people who are actually sick and catching cold. It is possible that since people of East Meria catch cold so often that they know what prescription they need and hence, to save money and time they do not visit doctor every time. If this condition turns out to be true than the argument will become unwarranted and illogical.

In order to fully evaluate this memo, we would also need to learn more about the multifaceted reasons behind absenteeism. It is not practical to think that cold is the only reason behind people taking leaves from their works. It could be any other reason like, personal work or fecklessness or accident. For these reasons increasing fish consumption will not be a judicious solution.

Also, even if cold is the major reason behind taking leave, there is no such information or research that people of West Meria will respond to fish in the same predicted manner. There could be a situation when it could go all wrong and on the contrary people could become more infectious because of fish.

Therefore, author should not come into such hasty conclusion without thinking about multifarious possibilities. He should go into details instead of simply assuming things.