Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Education today holds a prominent role in establishing an effective and astute group of work culture. Today, students have got a divergent field of subjects and show an affinity towards these multifaceted fields according to their own interest and level of understanding. The colossal universities contain the corpus of such eclectic fields and the students should be given freedom to opt a particular field in which they are interested.

The formal education system that nowadays every student go through ends in high school. By that time, every student is clear with the subjects and field of a career that they want to pursue in future. They have already obtained sufficient knowledge about multifarious subjects and therefore, are well enlightened about the importance and salient features of each and every subject. This understanding helps them to take a sagacious decision in the future and ultimately analyze the career for which they are passionate. There is no point of imposing extra courses on the students again and ultimately, it will result as a burden over these adroit students and it will just enervate their potential to work and focus for the field in which they are really interested.

By enjoining students to take extra courses along with there fundamental subjects, the university going to enhance their time and focus. The outside companies and field will not get these potential and accomplished students on time as because of these extra courses, the students are going to divide their time and focus in other fields also which results in no boost for their major career and therefore, it becomes futile. For example, the student who aspires to study artificial intelligence and has to deal with statistical analyzing skills and divergent coding techniques is not going to be zealous with the idea of learning additional courses like interior designing or historical research. These courses will become tedious for that student and therefore, it will retrench the capabilities and concentration of that student.

Admittedly, in some cases the students are not clear with the type of career they are passionate about or they are confused between two fields. In that case, it would be judicious to opt for the additional course as it reduces the risk of taking the wrong decision. However, in the majority of cases that does not happen. And if such scenario happens then the university should provide additional courses only to such students who are in the need of that. There should be options for all the students whether they themselves want to pursue additional courses or not. For example, additional courses like communication skills could be beneficiary for them as it is used in all the fields of career. Also, by not imposing the additional courses will result in a cost-effective measure for the students as well, as they are then going to make use of their funds shrewdly in those courses which will be beneficial for them.

Therefore, because of these aforementioned arguments, the university should not impose additional subject on the students and should give them time and freedom to go through only those courses which are going to be beneficial for them in long run. This will reduce the time taken by the students to complete their overall courses and would also result in a salubrious understanding of a particular subject.