The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The given letter explicates a study conducted for a group of monkeys which showed that birth order affects individuals' level of stimulation. The evidence it gives is first that firstborn infant monkeys develop twice the amount of homone cortisol as their younger siblings when exposed to stimulating situations. This is compared with firstborn humans who also manifest high levels of cortisol in commensurately stimulating situations. The study also states that first-time mother monkeys had more cortisol than others who already have experience with pregnancy. At the outset, all of this evidence seem to warrant the claim that there is a causation between birth order and individual stimulation, but this argument needs to be looked at more scrupulously. There are numerous unstated assumptions that need to be looked at in depth to qualify the validty of the claim.

First of all, the sample is not representative of the human population. Studying eighteen individuals of a certain group is too small a size to assert that the study's findings can be generalized to the whole population. Also, even though it is a widely acknowledged fact that primates and humans share a vast amount of similar traits, it does not guarantee that the given relationship manifests in the same way in humans. It could be possible that younger siblings show higher levels of cortisol in humans; there is no definite evidence showing that the causation in the monkeys can be applied to the humans.

Another flaw of the given evidence is that there is no information about people who are not firstborns. It is stated as a fact that firstborn humans show high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations, but we have no way of knowing how it compares to other siblings faced in the same situation. Perhaps humans vary from the reactions manifested in rhesus monkeys in that other younger siblings are more reactive to stimuating situations. It could also be possible that siblings show an equal level of cortisol. Unless data is provided on the difference between human siblings, the claim cannot decisively say that the given relationship exists.

Also, the fact that first-time expecting mothers have higher levels of cortisol does not warrant the relationship between birth order and child's cortisol level. The mother's high level of cortisol could just as easily not pass on to her child and retained in her body. There is no factual link that connects a mother's level of cortisol to her child's.

In conclusion, although the study may seem to show a valid claim, the findings could actually be spurious. There is not enough information to show that its assumptions are based on conclusive evidence.